Vegan Tater Tot casserole

wpid-20150308_163509.jpg

Pardon the picture but I am not a photographer and I won’t pretend to be.

I have been craving Tater Tot Casserole for weeks. I had no idea where to start on a recipe. When I would search pinterest, everything that came up had some vegan “meat” involved. I hate fake meat. I accepted the fact, when I gave up eating meat, dairy and eggs, there are just some things that won’t be the same and I have never tried to replace them.

One day, someone posted a recipe for “tuna” noodle casserole on the plant based facebook group I am a part of. I don’t remember that recipe being particularly interesting but it did reference a website that had a recipe for “cream of mushroom” soup. BINGO! I can not find the original recipe to link you to it. The website is worth a look for anyone looking into plant based recipes, though. I found, as I was trying to make this, that the specific recipe didn’t work for what I needed it to, anyways.

“Cream” of Mushroom soup

3 Tablespoons all purpose flour

3 Tablespoons Olive oil

2 cups non-dairy milk (I used unsweetened, unflavored almond)

2 cups veggie broth

8 ounces mushrooms (finely chopped)

1 large onion (finely chopped)

salt and pepper

In a pan on medium, heat oil then add flour and make a roux. When roux is ready (a clay like consistency), add liquid a little at a time, stirring well, so everything is nice and smooth. Once all liquid is add, bring to a simmer and add mushrooms and onion. Add salt and pepper to taste. Let everything simmer for about 20 minutes, until desired consistency and flavor is reached. (Makes about 4 cups of soup) *Note* I could just eat this with some nice crusty bread and be really happy.

For Tater Tot Casserole:

1 cup dried lentils

4 cups veggie broth

ground sage

12 – 16 ounce package of frozen mixed veggies

1/2 of the mushroom soup recipe above

Salt and pepper

1 package of Tater Tots

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

In a pan, after you rinse and sort lentils, cook lentils in veggie broth until all broth is absorbed by lentils (30 – 45 minutes). Season with salt, pepper and a pinch of sage (sage gives you more of the “beef” flavor). Mix cooked lentils with veggies and soup. Place in a 9X13 pan (I didn’t “grease” and had no problems). Top with Tater Tots. Bake for 45 min.

Let cool before you eat. My kids loved this! I think it is a win and the first time writing a recipe. YAY! I hope you enjoy this, too. Try this and let me know what you think.

wpid-20150308_164500.jpg

Update 4/13/15: I made this yesterday and forgot to divide the soup in half before pouring over the lentils and veggies. That means I used the whole soup recipe instead of half. I simply added another bag of frozen veggies and followed the rest of the casserole as written. It turned out fine. It is just a ton of food.

3 thoughts on “Vegan Tater Tot casserole

  1. Pingback: Tater Tot Casserole Price Comparison | Vegan for my Wallet

  2. Pingback: Vegan at Fred Meyer 1/16/16 – Vegan for my Wallet

Leave a Reply

