Essential oil math….. oil vs medicine

I know what your thinking! MORE MATH!!!!! WHY?

WP_20140404_001

Well, if you know me, then you know the best way to convince me of anything is to show me the math or the numbers. That is what weighs the most with me.

I know one of the complaints with essential oils is the cost, that it is too expensive. I decided to do the math for a particular case and really see what the math said.

*Note* Your cost is going to vary depending on the brand you pick and your personal health insurance costs. For the sake of the math, the cost is solely based on the prices at Plant Therapy. I did this for a couple of reasons. I really like their quality, I think it is equal to a lot of the more expensive brands. They, also, have free shipping in the U.S. I did not have to add that cost into my math. I am not an affiliate with them and get nothing if you buy through them. I would, also, personally recommend Mountain Rose Herbs , but they are more expensive and charge shipping.

This started because my friend has a condition. For her privacy, I won’t share what that is. With oils, one treatment can be used for so many things that what I say won’t give it away.

The recipe to treat her condition was:

100 drops of lemongrass

100 drops of clove

100 drops of peppermint

50 drops of frankincense

100 drops of fractionated coconut oil

Put everything in a roller bottle and apply 2 to 3 times a day.

At Plant Therapy, you can buy most of these oils in 10 ml or 30 ml bottle. A 10 ml bottle contains about 166 drops. The drop size will vary depending on the oil. some are thicker then others. Plant Therapy sells roller bottles for $7.99 for a pack of 4. When you divide up the recipe, you will fill 3 roller bottles, 36 drops of each except frankincense, which will be 18.

The total for the cost of oils is as follows.

Lemongrass $6.24

Clove $6.43

Peppermint $7.49

Frankincense $11.93

Fractionated Coconut oil $7.99

Total $40.08 + $7.99 for roller bottles is $48.07

For the essential oils, that is 664 drops. You should be able to get close to 2 recipes out of the essential oils. Fractionated coconut oil is not an essential oil and is sold in a 4 ounce bottle or larger. The price listed is the 4 ounce. That will stretch out over time and not have to be purchased over and over. It is similar with the roller bottles. They are refillable so you won’t have to buy them again, unless you feel they have worn out.

This is about a 6 to 8 month supply. So, taking your total and dividing it by 8 you get $6.01.

Now my prescription copay is at least $7.00, and this is for generic. For this situation, it is a long-term prescription, so you would have to buy it monthly. That is a dollar less a month, and the way this works, you would be healing the problem instead of just treating the symptoms. You wouldn’t be going to the doctor anymore, eventually. Healing takes time, so it wouldn’t happen over night. With essential oil use, you have to look at long-term benefit over immediate “fix.”

Final note, when she has to refill, it would cost her $32.09 because of the items that stretch out or you don’t have to buy again. That goes down to $4.01 a month.

What do you think of this math? Do you think the savings is significant? I say every penny counts.

 

Leave a Reply

