Walls….

I read something a couple of days ago that has been circulating in my brain that I thought I would share.

There is a blog I read on a fairly regular basis. I don’t want to share what blog it is because it is political and I am afraid it will distract from my point.

My paraphrase of the statement made in the blog is: We try to tear down walls without understanding why the walls are there in the first place.

Now the blogger was trying to make a very specific point but I have been thinking about that idea in a very broad way since I read it.

There are a lot of cultural “walls” we are trying to tear down. There are walls we build in our own life, too. Do we understand their purpose?

We may look at the wall, think about why it is there and come to the same conclusion. That is just fine. There is nothing inherently wrong with removing the divides in our life. It is better to completely understand the situation and then decide if it is a worthy endeavor.

Leave a Reply

