Face wash recipe for my cystic acne

This was a slightly insane morning. Not for the normal reasons, though. The kids were great. My son was ON IT! He was ready for school super early. My daughter was dressed before he was. It was great. Then I head to the bathroom for my turn. I get started and realize I am out of face wash. Thank goodness I make my own and it only takes 5 minutes.

Now a slight word of caution. I have bad, large cystic acne and to treat it I use oregano essential oil . Oregano oil is a HOT oil, meaning it can burn when you put it on. If you have sensitive skin, even just a little bit, but want to try this recipe, leave that ingredient out. The recipe should work without it if you just have acne prone skin.

WP_20140318_002

 

Recipe:

1 tbls of coconut oil

1tbls of honey (I use raw)

1 tbls bentonite clay

7 drops lemon essential oil

7 drops geranium essential oil

7 drops melaleuca (tea tree) essential oil

1-3 drops of oregano essential oil

WP_20140318_003

Put everything in a glass, ceramic or metal bowl, it is important to avoid plastic. Essential oils can leach toxic “stuff” out of the plastic and deposit it in your face wash.

WP_20140318_005

I whip everything with a hand mixer. You can use a fork and mix it by hand. I have done that, but it takes longer and you won’t get a nice whipped texture.

I store everything in an upcycled, glass baby food jar. This will last you 6 to 8 weeks. I use it once a day and I always use it when I take a shower. I put a little bit in my hand and add a little bit of baking soda that I keep in an upcycled spice container in the shower. The baking soda acts as a gentle exfoliant. I rub my hands together then rub all over my face. I do this first thing in the shower. I wash up, then rinse my face last.

It really has been amazing. My acne causes a lot of pain. I have been doing this for 3 months or so and this is the first time I have not been in pain. There seems to not be a lot of visual change because of all the scarring but now I am able to start doing something about that. It really is exciting when a continuous problem starts to heal.

24 thoughts on “Face wash recipe for my cystic acne

  1. I was wondering if using this in the morning to wash would cause an issue with the retin-a I use at night (only every other night since I just started)?
    A few cysts have shown up, which I haven’t had for about 15 years since taking accutane. I just had a cortisone shot into one that was just starting because I knew it would take forever for it to go away. It’s bring me down a lot, so I’m looking for something to use on a prevention level.
    Thanks!

  2. Also do you use it as a wash? Let it sit? I wondered about using it moring and night. I am 33 and have horrible cystic acne.

    • I get in the shower and spread it on first thing and then rinse it off last. The things that have made the biggest difference long term is eliminating all dairy from my diet and removing my IUD. When I did that, my adult acne went away. You can tell when I’ve allowed myself some dairy because I will develop huge (1/4 – 1/3 inch) cysts. I hope that helps. I’m so sorry you have to go through this.

  3. Thank you so much has for the information. I think u might substitute geranium for lavender and hopefully that will work just as well. Thank u again.

  4. I use apple cider vinegar and water for a toner. I applied that to my face and added a little more bentonite clay and finally got it to stick.

  5. Pingback: Face wash recipe for my cystic acne – Reclaimed Mama... - AllDIYIdeas.comDIY Ideas

  6. Pingback: Face wash recipe for my cystic acne – Reclaimed Mama... - AllDIYIdeas.comDIY Ideas

Leave a Reply

