5 things I reclaim on on a regular basis

Establishing a habit of reusing is hard in this consumer world. I think we like throwing something out. I know that I feel a sense of accomplishment when I get the last drop of shampoo out of the bottle (lame, I know). Once you start to remember reusing is saving you money, the drive gets higher. Here is a short list of things I reuse on a regular basis.

1. Fabric – I save any fabric. I buy it from thrift stores. I take the pieces other people don’t use. I love to sew and I hate spending money, so rescuing fabric from the trash is an easy way to keep my hobby cheap.

2. Toilet paper rolls – I know it sounds weird, but there are tons of things you can do with toilet paper rolls. Just search toilet paper rolls in Pinterest. I use them to start plants, mostly. Once a plant is large enough to transplant into the ground, I plant the toilet paper rolland everything on the ground.

3. Clothes – I know this is a lot like fabric but my goal is to fix first (or find it a new home if my kid just out grew it). It is amazing how much you can save over time by fixing and not throwing. What can’t be fixed get thrown into the sewing pile.

4. Food – “Food, what?” Yes, you can reclaim food. This happens in a couple ways. All vegetable scraps get put into a coffee can (2 reclaims for the price of one) in the freezer. When the can is full, all the scraps get put in the crockpot and turned into broth. We also have chickens and every bit of food that doesn’t get goes to the chickens.

5. Bags – There are so many things you can do with plastic bags (grocery, bread, etc.). Today I used some for packing material.

What do you reuse on a regular basis? How has repurposing helped you.

One thought on “5 things I reclaim on on a regular basis

  1. Pingback: The 3 Rs. | Reclaimed Mama

Leave a Reply

